The GTMA brings together the Australian Society of Travel Writers (ASTW), the British Guild of Travel Writers (BGTW) and the Society of American Travel Writers (SATW).

The historic collaboration was formalised at the SATW’s 2018 convention in Barbados, at a signing ceremony between leaders of the organizations at the time: Alastair McKenzie (representing BGTW), Barbara Ramsay Orr and David Swanson (SATW), and Danielle Lancaster (ASTW).

Introducing the GTMA Awards

All entrants must be members in good standing with the ASTW, SATW or BGTW. The qualifying period is for work produced between 1 January, 2019 and 31 December, 2019. Before you enter your selected categories, please read the criteria carefully.

By entering, you are agreeing to abide by the entry criteria and the rules therein. The decision of the judges shall be final and non-appealable and no correspondence will be entered into. Entry fee for each entry is US$25.


The categories

2020 Global Travel Writer Award

Sponsored by AccorHotels

Awarded to the writer member with the best story for the judging period.
All entries must have been published (in English) and should be 500 – 2000 words.

2020 Global Travel Photographer Award

Sponsored by Abercrombie & Kent

Entrants should send a portfolio of five images. The photos need not have been published, but must have been shot between January 1 and December 31, 2019.

2020 Global Travel Communicator Award

Sponsored by TravMedia

Awarded to a PR firm or individual for their work in PR communications focused on sustainable travel.